You may have read our prior blog post, What is Safe Haven? Recent legislation enacted in Arizona has updated a critical component of this law. Infants can now be surrendered to a Safe Haven provider up to 30 days old. We are hopeful that this update will keep more children safe, and empower mothers to ensure for the safety of their newborns even if it means they cannot parent them.
How old is a newborn under the Arizona Safe Haven law? Any infant up to 30 days old.
Who is a Safe Haven provider? A hospital worker, firefighter, or EMT. Other providers may include adoption agency workers or even church employees. Just look for the safe-haven sign.
Why is this important? Because there are options. There are safe options for parents and babies. Even if you find yourself in a situation that does not qualify under the Safe Haven law still reach out and ask for help, even if you may feel hopeless there are resources available. That may mean adoption, or even voluntary services through the Department of Child Safety or other child welfare organizations. Regardless, all parents should know they are not alone.
For more information see Arizona Revised Statute § 13-3623.01 and House Bill 2410.
This post is not intended as legal advice, nor does it create an attorney-client relationship. If you have specific legal questions please contact a licensed attorney in the state you reside.